Design for Additive Manufacturing

– opportunities and challenges –

Additive manufacturing brings a whole range of new possibilities for the development process of a product.

Tool-less nonspecific production machines offer so far unthinkable perspectives of individual adaptation for components. Thus, only by changing data - in a construction process - different parts can be made. This is possible regardless of the number of products and the location of the machine. Iterations of prototypes are created in the same method and material as the final product. The result is a very short process chain from the virtual model to the finished product.


Another essential aspect of additive manufacturing is the freedom of geometry. Material can be placed almost anywhere in the machine's packaging space, so that completely new designs can be implemented.


This shifting of limits for the feasible is essential to the design concept. Detached from paradigms of product development, which are determined by the previous manufacturing processes, we see here particularly the potential in functional integration.


Our focus is mainly on developing mechanisms and mobile constructions that - in line with the production and only possible through them - can be produced in a cohesive part. Stiff and flexible areas in a component are combined and connected together in such a way that a fully functional component falls out of the machine, which until now could only be manufactured and assembled from several individual parts.

example

A joint, such as a hinge, does not have to consist of several individual parts. In order to transform it meaningfully for the additive manufacturing it must be rethought in one piece. So it could be integrated directly into a product. By that the application of additive manufacturing fully exploit its potential and enable new innovative product solutions.

swing door hinge

operating principle

Adaptation of the rolling joint for the implementation in additive manufacturing

implementation

Monolithic design optimized for additive manufacturing with internal clamping unit to eliminate production-related material distances

functional prototype

Design for Additive Manufacturing

– Neue Möglichkeiten und Herausforderungen –

Die Additive Fertigung bringt eine ganze Palette neuer Möglichkeiten für den Entstehungsprozess eines Produktes.


Werkzeuglose unspezifische Fertigungsmaschinen bieten bisher undenkbare Perspektiven individueller Anpassung von Bauteilen. So können – lediglich durch Änderung von Daten – in einem Bauprozess unterschiedliche Teile gefertigt werden. Das ganze passiert unabhängig von der Stückzahl der Produkte und vom Standort der Maschine. Iterationen von Prototypen werden im gleichen Verfahren und Material, wie das Endergebnis erstellt. Das Resultat ist eine sehr kurze Prozesskette vom virtuellen Modell zum fertigen Produkt. 


Ein weiterer wesentlicher Aspekt der Additiven Fertigung stellt die Freiheit realisierbarer Geometrie dar. Material kann fast überall im Bauraum der Maschine platziert werden, sodass völlig neue Konstruktionen umsetzbar sind.


Dieses Verschieben der Grenzen des Machbaren ist für den Konstruktionsgedanken wesentlich. Losgelöst von Paradigmen der Produktentwicklung, die durch die bisherigen Fertigungsverfahren bestimmt sind, sehen wir hier besonders das Potential in der Funktionsintegration.


Unser Fokus liegt vor allem auf der Entwicklung von Mechanismen und beweglichen Konstruktionen, die – der Fertigung gerecht und auch erst durch sie ermöglicht – in einem zusammenhängenden Teil produziert werden können. Steife und flexible Bereiche in einem Bauteil werden so miteinander kombiniert und verbunden, dass ein vollfunktionierendes Bauteil aus der Maschine fällt, das bisher nur aus mehreren Einzelteilen hergestellt und zusammengefügt werden konnte.


Beispiel

Ein Gelenk, beispielsweise ein Scharnier, muss nicht aus mehreren Einzelteilen bestehen. Um es sinnvoll für die Additive Fertigung umzugestalten muss es in einem Stück neu gedacht werden. So könnte es auch direkt in ein Produkt integriert werden. Erst dadurch spielt die Anwendung der Additiven Fertigung ihr Potential voll aus und ermöglicht neue innovative Produktlösungen.

 Pendeltürband

 Funktionsprinzip

Adaption des Abrollgelenks für die Umsetzung in der Additiven Fertigung

 Umsetzung

Monolithische Konstruktion optimiert für die Additive Fertigung mit innenliegender Spanneinheit zur Eliminierung von produktionsbedingten Materialabständen

Funktionsprototyp